Tuesday, March 29, 2005

OPAL: from Digital Audio to OEBF Ebook Conference Recap

OPAL (Online Programming for All Libraries) is pleased to present a variety of programs this week and in April in honor of National Poetry month. Programs range from poetry to genealogy and a recap of the OEBF Ebook Conference in New York City. To attend, go to the online auditorium at http://www.tcconference.com/lib/?auditorium&nopass_field=1, type your name and click enter. For more information on programs, contact OPAL Coordinator Tom Peters at tapinformation@yahoo.com

Wednesday, March 30, 2005 beginning at Noon Eastern Standard Time, 11:00 a.m. Central, 9:00 Mountain, 8:00 Pacific, and 5:00 p.m. GMT:
Introduction to Tumble ebooks and digital audio books
The purpose of this introductory online session is to provide an overview of three distinct but related collections of digital content:
1. Tumble Talking Books: digital audio books, primarily for adults
2. Tumble Readables: large print e-books, primarily for adults
3. Tumble Book Library: story books, games, and puzzles for children
Sponsored by the Mid-Illinois Talking Book Center.



Wednesday, March 30, 2005 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, 3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, 1:00 Pacific, and 9:00 p.m. GMT:
Online Interview with Jim Scheppke
Jim Scheppke has been State Librarian of Oregon since 1991. He's worked at the Oregon State Library since 1986, and before that at the Texas State Library and the West Texas Library System. Before becoming a librarian he worked as an independent bookseller. He is a past-president of the Oregon Library Association and has written numerous articles for professional library publications. He has an Master of Library and Information Science degree from the University of Texas at Austin. Jim wrote an article, "The End of Talking Books?", which will appear in the March/April 2005 issue of Public Libraries magazine.


Tuesday, April 12, 2005 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, 1:00 Pacific, and 8:00 GMT:
Young Adult Literature, Part II
David Faucheux will continue his exploration of the genres within young adult literature. Includes an annotated bibliography based on the NLS publications Talking Book Topics and Braille Book Review from January-February 2002 to the present. If you think YA fiction is boring, simplistic, or too cute--think again! There is something for every taste--even adults may find something of interest--perhaps, to share with a child, grandchild, nephew or neice or young friend or as a shorter read and change of pace.


Thursday, April 14, 2005 beginning at 11:30 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 10:30 a.m. Central, 9:30 Mountain, 8:30 Pacific, and 3:30 p.m. GMT:
Live Discussion with Homer Hickam, author of Rocket Boys
The NASA Glenn Research Center and the Cleveland Area Metropolitan Library System invite you to participate in a live 60 minute webcast discussion with Homer Hickam author of the #1 New York Times Bestseller Rocket Boys and inspiration for the hit movie October Sky. Rocket Boys is the true story of the author's life growing up in the mining town of Coalwood, West Virginia. In October 1957, Sputnik raced across the Appalachian sky, leaving in its wake 14-year old Homer’s dream to build rockets. With the help of his friends, a dedicated teacher, his mother, and others in his small, company town, Homer’s rockets would carry him, and his town, farther than he ever expected.


Thursday, April 14, 2005 beginning at 1:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, noon Central, 11:00 a.m. Mountain, 10:00 a.m. Pacific, and 6:00 p.m. GMT: The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd. (RC 55533, narrated by Robin Miles) Join the Cleveland Public Library, Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped to discuss this novel set in South Carolina in the 1960's. When 14-year-old Lily rescues Rosaleen, her African American housekeeper, from the hospital after she was beaten while trying to register to vote, the duo seek safety in a beekeeping operation run by three black sisters. Please note: This special two-hour program will be held in the Cleveland Public Library's online meeting room, which can be accessed at the following URL:
http://www.tcconference.com/lib/?cleveland&pass.


Thursday, April 14, 2005 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, 1:00 Pacific, and 8:00 p.m. GMT:
Beyond Limits: A Poetry Reading and Panel Discussion with Lucia Perillo, Stephen Kuusisto and Paul Guest
Three poets will discuss their inspiration, adaptations, and assistive technology as poets with physical limitations or disabilities. Panelists will share the creative and technical process of writing as poets with such limitations as Multiple Sclerosis, blindness and quadriplegia. Lucia Perillo (http://www.luciaperillo.com/) is the author of three books of poetry and winner of several awards, including a MacArthur Foundation fellowship. Among other accomplishments, Stephen Kuusisto is the author of Only Bread Only Light (poems) and Planet of the Blind: A Memoir. He is an Assistant Professor at The Oh io State University (http://people.cohums.ohio-state.edu/kuusisto1/). Paul Guest is the author of The Resurrection of the Body and the Ruin of the World (poems) and co-editor of the online poetry journal Mot Juste (http://www.motjustepoetry.com/).


Friday, April 15, 2005 beginning at Noon Eastern Daylight Time, 11:00 a.m. Central, 10:00 Mountain, 9:00 Pacific, and 4:00 p.m. GMT:
Recap of the OeBF Conference on E-Books in Education
On Thursday, April 14 in New York City the Open eBook Forum will host a one-day conference on E-Books in Education. The speakers will include Steve Potash from OverDrive, George Kerscher from the DAISY Consortium, Ron Zevy from TumbleBooks, and many others. During this following day online follow-up, Tom Peters will lead a discussion about the major ideas, issues, opportunities, and announcements coming out of this conference.


Thursday, April 21, 2005 beginning at 3:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 2:00 Central, 1:00 Mountain, Noon Pacific, and 7:00 p.m. GMT:
African-American Genealogy Basics
Researching African-American ancestors poses a unique set of problems for family historians. Jack Simpson, genealogy curator at the Newberry Library in Chicago, will give an overview of genealogy research techniques with a focus on African-American sources. The talk will cover basic genealogy sources, such as the U. S. census and vital records. It will also examine more advanced sources, such as the records of the Freedmen’s Bureau. Jack Simpson is the Curator of Local and Family History at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Before coming to the Newberry, he worked at The Bentley Historical Library at the University of Michigan and the Reuther Library at Wayne State University in Detroit. In addition to his work as a reference librarian, Jack teaches several seminars in genealogy at the Newberry Library.

No comments: