Tuesday, July 20, 2004

Freed on Multimedia Ebooks

Greetings!  This Thursday afternoon beginning at 4:00 Eastern Daylight Time, 3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, and 1:00 Pacific there will be a one-hour online interview with Geoff Freed.  Freed is the Project Manager of the Beyond the Text Project at the CPB/WGBH National Center for Accessible Media (NCAM).  They are studying ways to make multimedia (images, audio and video) used in e-books accessible to people who are deaf, hard-of-hearing, blind or visually impaired. 
 
To access the interview:
 

1.  Go to the following URL: 
http://www.tcconference.com/lib?auditorium&nopass_field=1
 
2.  You will be taken to an entry screen containing very little information.  Move your cursor into the box to the right of the word "name" and input your name.  
3.  After you input your name, simply press the Enter key on your keyboard.  You will proceed into the online meeting room. 
 
This interview is sponsored by the Mid-Illinois Talking Book Center (www.mitbc.org) and is part of OPAL (Online Programming for All Libraries) (http://www.opal-online.org), a collaborative effort of libraries of all types to increase and improve access to online programming for all library users.  
 

No comments: