Friday, March 04, 2005

Offering Programs and Training to Your Patrons Where They Are on the Web

We have had great success offering programs and interactive training online with inexpensive web conferencing software with voice over IP, text chat and web co-browsing by Talking Communities. We have even offered introductions to PDAs, ebooks, and ebook trends to groups of librarians. Talking Communities also has a new software called TC screen (http://www.talkingcommunities.com/tcscreen) which you can use to capture voice and screen shots or web pages in a quick and easy manner. We are going to use this software to create short tutorials our readers can view on a website. We are doing a lot of our programming through OPAL. Libraries are invited to join OPAL or even just to see a demo of the software. By working together we can all offer more to our library users. The information below is on March programs. If you are interested in a demo or training session, please contact OPAL Coordinator Tom Peters at tapinformation@yahoo.com

OPAL (Online Programming for All Libraries) -
http://www.opal-online.org is pleased to offer the following programs during March. Programs are free and are open to anyone who is interested. Events take place in a virtual auditorium using web-conferencing software from Talking Communities with audio, text chat, and web co-browsing. Libraries who are interested in joining OPAL should contact Tom Peters, OPAL Coordinator at tapinformation@yahoo.com. OPAL recently won a Web Junction award for building digital opportunities through community engagement and will be featured at the ALA Clene Training Showcase in June 2005.

To enter the online auditorium, go to
http://www.tcconference.com/lib?auditorium
&nopass_field=1, type your name and click enter to go into the room. A
small software applet will download to your computer as you go into the room.


Wednesday, March 9, 2005 beginning at 8:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time,
7:00 Central, 6:00 Mountain, 5:00 Pacific, and 1:00 a.m. GMT:
The Meting of the Minds Online Book Discussion Group will be discussing
the 2003 award winning novel The Known World by Edward P. Jones. Manchester
County, Virginia; 1855. At his death Henry Townsend, a thirty-one-year-old
former slave who maintains a relationship with his owner William Robbins, owns more
than thirty slaves himself and fifty acres of land. But now his plantation
begins to fall apart as slaves betray one another.
RC 56918, 3 cassettes.


Thursday, March 10, 2005 beginning at 1:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time,
noon Central, 11:00 a.m. Mountain, 10:00 a.m. Pacific, and 6:00 p.m. GMT:
Rocket Boys by Homer H. Hickam, Jr. (RC 47833, narrated by John Polk) Join the
Cleveland Public Library, Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped to
discuss this book in which a retired NASA engineer remembers his boyhood in West
Virginia and his early experiments in rocket science. His first attempt burned down
his mother's garden fence! Please note: This special two-hour program will
be held in the Cleveland Public Library's online meeting room, which can be
accessed at the following URL:
http://www.tcconference.com/lib/?cleveland&pass.


Friday, March 11, 2005 beginning at 11:00 a.m. Eastern Standard Time,
10:00 a.m.
Central, 9:00 a.m. Mountain, 8:00 a.m. Pacific, and 4:00 p.m. GMT:
Health Information for Cyber Seniors Join presenters Sallie Klipp and Peg
Burnette as they explain how to find the best health information on the Internet.
This program is part of Project HEALTHY, which provides consumer health
information programs of interest to senior citizens.


Wednesday, March 16, 2005 beginning at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time,
1:00 Central, noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific, and 7:00 p.m. GMT:
The Unique American Woman: Stories of Sisters, Wives, Mothers, and
Friends
(Women's History Month)
You know about Susan B. Anthony and Rosie the Riveter, but did you know
about the Civil War soldier who revealed her identity only when wounded? Or
the stories of women in covered wagons transversing the Great Plains, as
slaves or the wives of famous men, or during the Great Depression? Presented by
the Library of Congress.


Friday, March 18, 2005 beginning at noon Eastern Standard Time, 11:00
a.m. Central, 10:00 a.m. Mountain, 9:00 a.m. Pacific, and 5:00 p.m. GMT:
Introduction to the Lincoln Collection Join Kim Bauer, Curator of the Lincoln
collection at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library, for this fascinating
introduction to the treasures held in this unique collection.


Wednesday, March 30, 2005 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time,
3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, 1:00 Pacific, and 9:00 p.m. GMT:
Online Interview with Jim Scheppke
Jim Scheppke has been State Librarian of Oregon since 1991. He's worked
at the Oregon State Library since 1986, and before that at the Texas State
Library and the West Texas Library System. Before becoming a librarian he worked as
an independent bookseller. He is a past-president of the Oregon Library
Association and has written numerous articles for professional library
publications. He has an Master of Library and Information Science degree from the University of Texas at Austin.

Tags: interactive, library, librarians, web

No comments: