Saturday, April 09, 2005

OEBF Ebook Workshop Update to Poetry with the Presidents

Greetings. Throughout the remainder of April there will be some great online programs that are open to all and free of charge. These programs are offered through a service called OPAL, which stands for Online Programming for All Libraries. Below is a list with brief descriptions of the upcoming programs. We'll be discussing such diverse topics as the love poems of George Washington, rocket science, young adult literature, the secret life of bees, poetry written by poets with physical challenges, how to make ebooks more accessible, genealogy, and more. The full OPAL schedule, including links into the online meeting room where each online program will be held, is at the following URL:

http://www.opal-online.org/progschrono.htm

If you have any questions, please contact Tom Peters (tpeters at tapinformation.com). Thanks.

Tuesday, April 12, 2005 beginning at beginning at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 1:00 Central, Noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific, and 6:00 p.m. GMT:
"Feeling a little poetic this evening": The Poetry of U.S. Presidents
Although poetry writing isn't an activity we normally associate with U.S. presidents, several of them turned to poetry as an outlet for their feelings and thoughts. Join us as we explore the love poems of George Washington, the religious verse of John Quincy Adams, the melancholy poems of Abraham Lincoln, and poetry written by other presidents. We will also look at several poems written about American presidents, especially poems memorializing Lincoln, and will find out what when wrong when Robert Frost attempted to read a poem at John F. Kennedy's inauguration. Hosted by Peter Armenti from the Library of Congress.


Wednesday, April 13, 2005 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, 1:00 Pacific, and 8:00 GMT:
Young Adult Literature, Part II
David Faucheux will continue his exploration of the genres within young adult literature. Includes an annotated bibliography based on the NLS publications Talking Book Topics and Braille Book Review from January-February 2002 to the present. If you think YA fiction is boring, simplistic, or too cute--think again! There is something for every taste--even adults may find something of interest--perhaps, to share with a child, grandchild, nephew or neice or young friend or as a shorter read and change of pace.


Thursday, April 14, 2005 beginning at 11:30 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 10:30 a.m. Central, 9:30 Mountain, 8:30 Pacific, and 3:30 p.m. GMT:
Live Discussion with Homer Hickam, author of Rocket Boys
The NASA Glenn Research Center and the Cleveland Area Metropolitan Library System invite you to participate in a live 60 minute webcast discussion with Homer Hickam author of the #1 New York Times Bestseller Rocket Boys and inspiration for the hit movie October Sky. Rocket Boys is the true story of the author's life growing up in the mining town of Coalwood, West Virginia. In October 1957, Sputnik raced across the Appalachian sky, leaving in its wake 14-year old Homer’s dream to build rockets. With the help of his friends, a dedicated teacher, his mother, and others in his small, company town, Homer’s rockets would carry him, and his town, farther than he ever expected.


Thursday, April 14, 2005 beginning at 1:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, noon Central, 11:00 a.m. Mountain, 10:00 a.m. Pacific, and 6:00 p.m. GMT: The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd. (RC 55533, narrated by Robin Miles) Join the Cleveland Public Library, Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped to discuss this novel set in South Carolina in the 1960's. When 14-year-old Lily rescues Rosaleen, her African American housekeeper, from the hospital after she was beaten while trying to register to vote, the duo seek safety in a beekeeping operation run by three black sisters. Please note: This special two-hour program will be held in the Cleveland Public Library's online meeting room, which can be accessed at the following URL:
http://www.tcconference.com/lib/?cleveland&pass.


Thursday, April 14, 2005 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, 1:00 Pacific, and 8:00 p.m. GMT:
Beyond Limits: A Poetry Reading and Panel Discussion with Lucia Perillo, Stephen Kuusisto and Paul Guest
Three poets will discuss their inspiration, adaptations, and assistive technology as poets with physical limitations or disabilities. Panelists will share the creative and technical process of writing as poets with such limitations as Multiple Sclerosis, blindness and quadriplegia. Lucia Perillo (http://www.luciaperillo.com/) is the author of three books of poetry and winner of several awards, including a MacArthur Foundation fellowship. Among other accomplishments, Stephen Kuusisto is the author of Only Bread Only Light (poems) and Planet of the Blind: A Memoir. He is an Assistant Professor at The Ohio State University (http://people.cohums.ohio-state.edu/kuusisto1/). Paul Guest is the author of The Resurrection of the Body and the Ruin of the World (poems) and co-editor of the online poetry journal Mot Juste (http://www.motjustepoetry.com/).


Friday, April 15, 2005 beginning at Noon Eastern Daylight Time, 11:00 a.m. Central, 10:00 Mountain, 9:00 Pacific, and 4:00 p.m. GMT:
Recap of the OeBF Conference on E-Books in Education
On Thursday, April 14 in New York City the Open eBook Forum will host a one-day conference on E-Books in Education. The speakers will include Steve Potash from OverDrive, George Kerscher from the DAISY Consortium, Ron Zevy from TumbleBooks, and many others. During this following day online follow-up, Tom Peters will lead a discussion about the major ideas, issues, opportunities, and announcements coming out of this conference.


Thursday, April 21, 2005 beginning at 3:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 2:00 Central, 1:00 Mountain, Noon Pacific, and 7:00 p.m. GMT:
African-American Genealogy Basics
Researching African-American ancestors poses a unique set of problems for family historians. Jack Simpson, genealogy curator at the Newberry Library in Chicago, will give an overview of genealogy research techniques with a focus on African-American sources. The talk will cover basic genealogy sources, such as the U. S. census and vital records. It will also examine more advanced sources, such as the records of the Freedmen’s Bureau. Jack Simpson is the Curator of Local and Family History at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Before coming to the Newberry, he worked at The Bentley Historical Library at the University of Michigan and the Reuther Library at Wayne State University in Detroit. In addition to his work as a reference librarian, Jack teaches several seminars in genealogy at the Newberry Library.


Wednesday, April 27, 2005 beginning at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 1:00 Central, Noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific, and 6:00 p.m. GMT:
"To light us to freedom, and glory again!": The Role of Civil War Poetry
Poetry written during the Civil War era was used as a means of political and social mobilization. Using the Library of Congress's online collections, we will explore how Northern and Southern war poetry helped unify citizens, inspire troops, memorialize the dead, and overcome the anger and resentment of both sides in the aftermath of the war. Hosted by Peter Armenti from the Library of Congress.

No comments: